sureskybird.blogg.se

Database programs for mac
Database programs for mac




database programs for mac
  1. #DATABASE PROGRAMS FOR MAC MAC OS#
  2. #DATABASE PROGRAMS FOR MAC SOFTWARE#

#DATABASE PROGRAMS FOR MAC SOFTWARE#

(A side-note: I cannot understand why so many programmers of genealogy software persist in thinking that a raw GEDCOM file is a good way to store genealogical data. It also uses the GEDCOM file directly as the persistant storage, which does not scale. It doesn’t handle rapid data entry well at all, and it cannot handle databases larger than a few thousand individuals. However, my impression of it is that it would make a very good application for a beginning genealogist, who has a very small database. MacFamilyTree is the most visually appealing of the three commercial apps I checked out-I was very impressed by its look.Not something I’m willing to spend seventy bucks on. It also took forever to import my database (20k individuals), which doesn’t exactly make me confident in its ability to handle large databases. But it follows a philosophy of “make everything available in a single window”, which I found a bit overwhelming. Heredis is a bit better-it at least looks like a Mac application.And the list of children, there at the bottom? What’s with the bizarre diagonal layout? It’s like they couldn’t decide on a color schema and so went for as many pastels as they could find. I’m sure there are plenty of ugly Mac programs, but I can’t believe people would pay $100 for something this hideous. Reunion by Leister Productions appears to be the suite of choice for most Mac-using genealogy enthusiasts.But I have been less than impressed what what I’ve seen.

database programs for mac

There are actually quite a few applications for the Mac, and a few of them are even free. I say unfortunately, because I have looked and looked for a decent genealogical program for OSX and am frankly astounded by the lack.

#DATABASE PROGRAMS FOR MAC MAC OS#

Unfortunately, this renewal of interest coincides with my adoption of Mac OS X. About 4 or 5 years ago I did quite a bit of work on my genealogy, but what with kids (and Ruby!) I’ve only recently rediscovered that passion. I’ve recently been experiencing a renewal of interest in family history research.






Database programs for mac